Namaste.

An act of kindness does not have to be a physical act or spoken word. An act of kindness can be as simple as giving someone a silent blessing. Some call this prayer, but to me, saying a prayer is challenging, it requires some thought. In my busy brain, I need something more simple. I prefer to “namaste”.
You might think that “namaste” is just a word you say at the end of your yoga class. But, do you know what that word means?

Namaste: I respect the presence of God within you; I bow to the God within you.

With that one simple word, you can send love, respect, and kindness to others.
I have to admit, I started this practice as a means to find peace and love when I encountered people that I didn’t particularly enjoy being around. When I was in their presence, I would silently in my head think “Namaste. Namaste. Namaste. I respect the presence of God within you.”
I felt so good doing this, it was a reminder to me that God is present in all beings and they deserve divine respect and kindness. Before long, I started to do it all of the time. To the person standing behind me at the grocery store checkout. To the man walking up the street. To the tollbooth operator on the highway.

“Namaste. Namaste. Namaste. I respect the presence of God within you.”

It is a simple act. A small and silent gesture extending love and kindness to another individual. But, it spreads so much love and it is so easy.
Try it today. You don’t have to use the word Namaste. You could use any small phrase that works for you. But, today, your mission, if you choose to except it, is: to send a silent blessing to you every person you encounter today.

Good luck…Namaste.

One thought on “Namaste.

Leave a Reply

